Coral tree blooms

Botanical Tours

Plant Day and Orchid Odyssey

Join us each month to celebrate our botanical collection, featuring a special Botanical Bus Tour at 2 p.m., Orchid House open hours from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m., and Carnivorous Plant Greenhouse open hours from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

  • Friday, January 18, 2019
  • Friday, February 15, 2019
  • Sunday, March 10, 2019
  • Friday, March 15, 2019
  • Friday, April 19, 2019
  • Friday, May 17, 2019
  • Sunday, June 9, 2019
  • Friday, June 21, 2019
  • Friday, July 19, 2019
  • Friday, August 16, 2019
  • Sunday, September 8, 2019
  • Friday, September 20, 2019
  • Friday, October 18, 2019
  • Friday, November 15, 2019
  • Sunday, December 8, 2019
  • Friday, December 20, 2019

Self-guided Tours

Take a self-guided tour of the San Diego Zoo's spectacular gardens and plant collections any time you choose, with our Botanical Tour brochures. Find your way with your Zoo map, and learn more about the interesting, beautiful, and endangered specimens of our prized plant collections.

Gardens

  • Australian Outback
  • Elephant Odyssey Trees
  • Fern Canyon
  • Monkey Trails

Collections

  • Bamboo
  • Coral Tree
  • Cycad
  • Ficus
  • Orchid
  • Palm

Botanical Tour brochures made possible through the generosity of The Daphne Seybolt Culpeper Memorial Foundation.

  • Australian Outback Botanical Tour
  • Elephant Odyssey Trees Botanical Tour
  • Fern Canyon Botanical Tour
  • Monkey Trails Botanical Tour
  • Bamboo Botanical Tour
  • Coral Tree Botanical Tour
  • Cycad Botanical Tour
  • Ficus Botanical Tour
  • Orchid Botanical Tour
  • Palm Botanical Tour
  • Giant panda Bai Yun and cub.
    Wildlife Conservancy

    ADOPT A GIANT PANDA

    A pair of giraffes against a Kenyan landscape.
    CITIZEN SCIENCE

    GIRAFFE SPOTTERS WANTED

    HELP RESEARCHERS SAVE WILDLIFE
    Greater one-horned rhino calf resting its head on its mother's while they wade in a pool of water.
    ZOONOOZ

    GREAT(ER) NEWS

    TWO NEW RHINO CALVES AT THE PARK
    Ring-tailed lemur, African penguin, and leopard illustrated in front of a laser light show.
    EXPLORE SIX NEW HABITATS

    AFRICA ROCKS

    Hotel with pool
    Creature Comforts

    PREFERRED HOTELS