Coral tree blooms

Botanical Tours

Plant Day and Orchid Odyssey

Join us each month to celebrate our botanical collection, featuring a special Botanical Bus Tour at 2 p.m., Orchid House open hours from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m., and Carnivorous Plant Greenhouse open hours from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

  • Friday, January 17, 2020
  • Friday, February 21, 2020
  • Sunday, March 8, 2020
  • Friday, March 20, 2020
  • Friday, April 17, 2020
  • Friday, May 15, 2020 (Plant Day)
  • Sunday, June 14, 2020 (Plant Day)
  • Friday, June 19, 2020 (Plant Day)
  • Friday, July 17, 2020
  • Friday, August 21, 2020
  • Sunday, September 13, 2020
  • Friday, September 18, 2020
  • Friday, October 16, 2020
  • Friday, November 20, 2020
  • Sunday, December 13, 20920
  • Friday, December 18, 2020

Self-guided Tours

Take a self-guided tour of the San Diego Zoo's spectacular gardens and plant collections any time you choose, with our Botanical Tour brochures. Find your way with your Zoo map, and learn more about the interesting, beautiful, and endangered specimens of our prized plant collections.

Gardens

  • Australian Outback
  • Elephant Odyssey Trees
  • Fern Canyon
  • Monkey Trails

Collections

  • Bamboo
  • Cycad
  • Orchid

Botanical Tour brochures made possible through the generosity of The Daphne Seybolt Culpeper Memorial Foundation.

  • Australian Outback Botanical Tour
  • Elephant Odyssey Trees Botanical Tour
  • Fern Canyon Botanical Tour
  • Monkey Trails Botanical Tour
  • Bamboo Botanical Tour
  • Cycad Botanical Tour
  • Orchid Botanical Tour
  • koala with joey

    Australian Wildlife Relief

    Plush-crested Jay in the Zoo's Parker Aviary
    ZOONOOZ

    The Brainy Bunch

    Meet Some Smart Birds
    Mother polar bear with cub.
    ZOONOOZ

    Tracking Polar Bears...and More!

    Keeping Tabs in the Wild
    Masai giraffe
    GO BEHIND THE SCENES

    INSIDE LOOK TOURS

    Young brother and sister, mother and father wearing matching San Diego Zoo t-shirts.
    SHOPZOO

    ZOO FAMILY APPAREL

    Hotel with pool
    Creature Comforts

    PREFERRED HOTELS