Coral tree blooms

Botanical Tours

Plant Day and Orchid Odyssey

Plant Day and Orchid Odyssey return on January 21, 2022! See how we've grown!

Orchid Odyssey will return on January 21, 2022, from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Our orchid house was remodeled during 2021, and the plants are adjusting well to their new environment—there's always an orchid in bloom! The orchid greenhouse is located between map locators 9 and 10.

The Carnivorous Plant Greenhouse will be open from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. Horticulture staff will be available to answer all your questions about these amazing plants! The Carnivorous Plant Greenhouse is located between map locators 18 and 19, across the bus road from the lions.

A Botanical Bus Tour will be available at 2 p.m., led by a different horticulture staff member each month—giving you a broad perspective of our botanical collections. The Botanical Bus Tour loads at Bus Unloading and follows a similar path as the Guided Bus Tour.

Here's the schedule for 2022 Plant Days and Orchid Odyssey:

Friday, January 21, 2022
Friday, February 18, 2022
Sunday, March 13, 2022
Friday, March 18, 2022
Friday, April 15, 2022
Friday, May 20, 2022
Sunday, June 12, 2022
Friday, June 17, 2022
Friday, July 15, 2022
Friday, August 19, 2022
Sunday, September 11, 2022
Friday, September 16, 2022
Friday, October 7, 2022 (Botanical Bus Tour Only – in Spanish)
Friday, October 21, 2022
Friday, November 18, 2022
Sunday, December 11, 2022
Friday, December 16, 2022

Self-guided Tours

Take a self-guided tour of the San Diego Zoo's spectacular gardens and plant collections any time you choose, with our Botanical Tour brochures. Find your way with your Zoo map, and learn more about the interesting, beautiful, and threatened species in our botanical collections.

Gardens

  • Australian Outback
  • Elephant Odyssey Trees
  • Fern Canyon
  • Monkey Trails
  • Africa Rocks

Collections

  • Aloes
  • Bamboos
  • Cycads
  • Orchids
  • Coral Trees
  • Palms
  • Carnivorous Plants
  • Figs (Ficus)

Botanical Tour brochures made possible through the generosity of The Daphne Seybolt Culpeper Memorial Foundation.

  • Australian Outback Botanical Tour
  • Elephant Odyssey Trees Botanical Tour
  • Fern Canyon Botanical Tour
  • Monkey Trails Botanical Tour
  • Africa Rocks Botanical Tour
  • Aloes Botanical Tour
  • Bamboos Botanical Tour
  • Cycads Botanical Tour
  • Orchids Botanical Tour
  • Coral Trees Botanical Tour
  • Palms Botanical Tour
  • Carnivorous Plants Botanical Tour
  • Figs (Ficus) Botanical Tour
  • Ad-SHOPZOO-Britto
    SHOPZOO

    SIGNED LIMITED EDITION BRITTO CANVAS PRINTS

    Join the Alliance
    SHOPZOO

    JOIN THE ALLIANCE

    Your purchase helps rescue orphaned elephants
    SHOPZOO

    SUPPORT RETETI ELEPHANT SANCTUARY

    Your purchase helps rescue orphaned elephants
    Halgloween at the san diego zoo

    October 1–3, 8–10, 15–17, 22–24, and 29–31

    Activities start at 5 p.m.
    Penguins
    DISCOVER THE WONDERS OF

    AFRICA ROCKS

    Hotel with pool
    Creature Comforts

    PREFERRED HOTELS